Painting the Stairs

1

December 3, 2012 by cjgrows

 

 

We have one staircase that is in the center left of the house and is pretty much a small confined area with a low ceiling that gets almost no natural light. inviting right? There is a light at both the top and bottom landings but neither do much to actually light the stairwell. Besides walking up and down the stairs 20 times a day I have never really thought of making an improvement. That is not until B suggested painting the backs of the stairs white. Apparently its a thing, a very common thing, and I should start paying more attention to stairs! B is one of those guys that doesn’t ask for or want for much so when he makes a suggestion I give it serious thought. So after a little pinterest recon and looking at every single staircase I walked up for two weeks I was on board!

Here is the staircase before

I started by thoroughly cleaning the stairs (our dogs make sure I have plenty to clean) then taping off the tread for a nice clean line. I gave the rise a quick sanding to prep it for paint, two coats of primer, and two coats of white semi-gloss. The semi-gloss makes it much easier to keep clean and matches the existing trim around the stairs.

Here is the before and after! I think it makes the stairs much brighter and more welcoming! The only downside is it is much, much, more obvious when the are dirty.

One thought on “Painting the Stairs

  1. I like looking through a post that can make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

Leave a Reply

